W For Whoopi Goldberg

American actor, comedian and film personality, Whoopi Goldberg’s actual name is Caryn Elaine Johnson. Did you know that? I didn’t. What’s in a name? I enjoyed watching her films and that’s what matters most to me. Whoopi Goldberg has said,

Normal is in the eye of the beholder.

I think this is a very powerful statement, applicable to all, not just women. What’s normal to me, may not be normal to you. The other day, during the course of my morning walk, I overheard an aunty, pointing out to me and telling an uncle that these days, women are always in trousers/pants; they seldom wear sarees. I smiled to myself and wondered what’s the big deal? It’s so normal these days…not for Aunty, I suppose. Similarly, my husband helps a lot around the house whenever he’s not travelling and many of my own friends have raised eyebrows over this. For us, it’s routine, as normal as it can be. But many still believe that taking care of the family and the household is a woman’s job. Why should the husband chip in? If we can brush aside these comments and not let them affect us or our mental health, we are good. The moment we take these to heart and go around responding, trouble starts brewing. So do your ‘normal’, be yourself, let others talk…done?

This post is a part of #BlogchatterA2Z 2023.

Leave a comment