O For (Get Over With) Over

I spent an enormous amount of time looking for emotions with O, but surprisingly there aren’t many that we don’t know. Hence today out of no choice, what I will be writing about is what you/we already know. Recently, I heard the news of a senior from college pass away. She was barely 50 and died of a heart attack. While I don’t know her personally, it immersed me in immense sadness to know that someone so young had to go away. And today, we often hear of young people succumbing to heart attack. While the reasons can be many, one of the primary reasons is because we don’t know where to stop.

In an age when technology is supposed to ease work, reduce stress and make our lives better, ironically we end up over-stressed, over-anxious and overworked. We feel we can control everything and we want to prove to our senior management that we are capable of much more than what we are perceived to be able to achieve. We fill in our plates with more than we can handle. Sleepless nights, erratic eating patterns and schedules, no time for exercise and multitasking–where do we end? In the hospital or worse, we exit this world. Is it worth it? I keep telling my friends who are in their late forties and fifties to not stress so much about work because no amount of stress is worth our life. But who listens? And this includes me too.

An excess of anything, “over” the permissible limit is dangerous, have we not been taught? Shall we learn to cut down? Get over with “over” of anything? Anyone listening?

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z. Join me as I explore the roller-coaster world of emotions the whole of this month. Here’s my previous post on emotions, starting with the letter N, in case you missed it.

4 thoughts on “O For (Get Over With) Over

  1. Hi Janaki, this is a very relevant post for these times. Everyone seems to be just caught up in an endless race to … I don’t know where!
    We just need to stop, relax, and then resume the journey.
    I have been practising this. I just don’t do anything for too long a time.
    O = Oxford comma

    Like

Leave a comment