Sunset, Dreams And Beyond…

U and Me,
or was it,
Me and U…But does it matter?

Under the dark chestnut tree,
Soaking in the light,
of the setting sun,
sipping wine,
from each other’s lips…
As darkness envelopes,
we recline,
in each other’s arms,
Dreaming of a tomorrow,
that’s as distant as the setting sun…


Will you be mine? you ask,
and as I begin to answer,
my throat goes dry.
I look around and suddenly,
There’s nothing to quench my thirst.
I scream and shout,
but all in silence.
And suddenly I reach out,
to hold you…
but you are nowhere close….


What’s going on?
Why is everything turning against me?
I get up with a cold shudder,
Oh, so this was a dream?
I chide myself and go back to sleep,
Sleep eludes me for a while, so I think,
Dreams do turn real, don’t they?
With every sunset, I remember my dream,
And send affirmations to the universe,
Hoping it will bring you back to me.
We can spend time again watching the sunset.
U, Me and U again,
sipping wine in each other’s arms…

“This post is a part of ‘UMeU’ Poetry Blog Hop #UMeUBlogHop organized by Manas Mukul . The hop is brought to you by Soul Craft and You, Me & The Universe.”

28 thoughts on “Sunset, Dreams And Beyond…

    1. This was heart touching, just felt so deep emotions don’t have words, a dream to be fulfilled only if they would turn to real🥺 just loved it.
      May God almighty hear on your pleads and make your dreams real.
      So well penned.✒️ am thankful to blogpost to able to read such touchy write-ups. Stay blessed and sorry for late comments.

      Like

    2. This was heart touching, just felt so deep emotions don’t have words, a dream to be fulfilled only if they would turn to real🥺 just loved it.
      May God almighty hear on your pleads and make your dreams real.
      So well penned.✒️ am thankful to blogpost to able to read such touchy write-ups.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Enjoyed the imagery. Romantic love is often surreal and often does feel like a dream.
    We need to enjoy it while it lasts.

    Your poem had a melancholic vibe beneath the romantic tone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice words.
    Dreams seem so real that sometimes we need to check whether we are awake or still asleep.
    Some people will always be a part of us and we can feel their presence even if they are no more…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well said, Janki Ji; some dreams are indeed so precious that we never want them to end or want to see them in the loop. You have beautifully penned the beauty of dream under the beauty of the sunset.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As people say sometimes dreams can come true and I pray God to make me dream all good but that’s not what always happens, you do get those scary dreams of loosing someone close and sometime I do not want to dream. Loved the way you have expressed yourself.

    Like

  5. Such a beautiful poem. Some dreams are so beautiful and precious that you don’t want to go back to reality. So beautifully written. Loved it.

    Like

  6. This is heartwarming. Love the soft subtle nature of it. Do dreams come true or are we living in one such dream? I frequently question myself with such thoughts. This one has a soothing feel to it. Please keep writing poetry. You said you haven’t written and see here you wrote two pieces in a week.

    #UMeUBlogHop
    #Jokerophilia

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such lovely play of words – With every sunset, I remember my dream And send affirmations to the universe…
    I can think of so much depth in these lines with so many thoughts doing rounds. Nice poem #UMeUBlogHop

    Like

Leave a comment