Lessons For A Lifetime

An opened laptop with post it stuck on the display.

“Happy Valentine’s Day, Vijay” Smiled Juanita when Vijay came in the morning. He was embarrassed and just said, “thank you.”

“Sorry, ma’am, I don’t know English, so can’t repeat it back.”

Juanita laughed. “Its ok Vijay. Do you want to learn English? I can teach you.”

“Will you, ma’am? It would be great.”

“Why not? I can send you a few sentences each day on WhatsApp and you just practice them, record and send it back to me. That’s all you have to do.”

“Sure, ma’am. Sometimes, I get guests from abroad. It gets so difficult without basic English. I literally have to enact each sentence. Then too, I’m not sure they understand me well. It becomes so tedious,” Vijay said in all excitement. And then, slowed down to say, “You’re very kind, ma’am. What time are we leaving today?”

Juanita looked out of the window and replied, “I don’t want to go back, Vijay. I wish the day would simply not end so that I could be here. But then, such is life. Nothing is constant, is it?” And when she turned around, she saw Vijay all confused.

“No one has an easy life, ma’am. We have more problems each day. Sometimes, problems come suddenly, unannounced. But we need to go on. If you are happy always, you will get bored of that too. Don’t think so much about it. Just divert yourself. Whenever you feel sad/upset, bring the seashore to mind. Think of the waves, the sand. You will feel much better. Try it.”

“Maybe you are right, Vijay. Let’s leave after breakfast.”

After breakfast, they left, and as they were driving back, Juanita soaked in as much as she could from the trip. The calm, the peace, the waves, the shore, the rocks, the sand–she tucked them all in her mind so that she could bring them out whenever she felt sad. Perhaps Vijay was right. Everyone in life has challenges. And each challenge is a lesson to make us better and stronger. Running away from it is never the solution. In fact, her position was much better than so many others. She had a good family, her financial situation was good, she did not have to think before spending, and she had the freedom to take off on a vacation like this–how many had a life like this? And how many were craving to be where she is now?

“Lost in thoughts, ma’am?” asked Vijay.

“Yes, a bit.”

“Don’t think so much, ma’am. Just be. Life is like a journey. Keep moving. If you stop to think, you are in trouble. Just keep walking. That’s the simple mantra you should keep in mind. And then, there will be no worries, no complaints. Your journey will be enjoyable. Think of all the good times you’ve had, and all the good people you’ve met–these thoughts are enough to erase unpleasant moments, and in no time, you will notice your mood has changed. Sorry ma’am, maybe I’m talking too much. You are educated; you know more than me. I just thought that once you are here to be relaxed, you should enjoy. Don’t worry that this will not last. Be happy you got this.”

Soon, they were close to home. As Vijay dropped her home, Juanita thanked him profusely. “I’m glad I took this trip, Vijay. Otherwise, I would’ve missed meeting a wonderful person like you. You have so much to offer. You don’t know that you took therapy classes for free. Thank you so much. Keep spreading the good vibes always. You never know who needs it desperately. Good night, Vijay.”

“Good night, ma’am. Please refer me to your friends if you liked the way I drove.”

“I will,” said Juanita, and as she walked back into her old world, she couldn’t stop thinking how much she had learnt on this trip from this man. Lessons for a lifetime, and she smiled as her son called out from the balcony, “Amma is here.”

Leave a comment