Brave Inked Emotions: Practical Tips To Wade Through Everyday Emotional Battles

Title: Brave Inked Emotions

Soulful life experiences of eminent Indian writers on how life taught them precious lessons in their emotional battles 

Editor: Roma Gupta Sinha

Publisher: Notion Press

Publication Date: March 8th, 2024

pp. 246

Genres: Biography, Autobiography

About the book:

‘Brave Inked Emotions’, isn’t like any other book on emotional wellness that you find on bookshelves. It’s a book on soul searching where 31 women, forage into the depths of their hearts and mind to bare it all to help others who find themselves in similar situations. As you turn the pages of the book, you will be able to relate to at least one chapter, or sometimes more. Because it’s the story of a mother, a daughter, a wife and more–roles that every woman plays at some time in her life.

This book makes you feel that you are not alone; there are many out there battling similar situations. While it makes you feel heard, it also takes you a step further to give you solutions that work. This is done in the hope that you can crawl out of your emotional hurdles successfully. Through this book, each contributor has made a brave attempt to dwell deep and bring to the fore the battles they have fought within themselves for years. Needless to say, it wasn’t easy. For many, this was the first time, they re-connected with their older, emotional selves, cut through the trauma and scars to lay their emotions bare for the world to see. As they did this, they were aware of the social stigma, dilemmas, and misconceptions that one is often faced with. They stretch out a hand to anyone in similar situations, to be brave and fight the demons. And if you are wondering if this book is all about women alone, here’s the surprise; there is a chapter that talks at length about demystifying the stigma around the mental health of men. Therefore, this is one book that covers every aspect of emotional health that you can think of–from those faced by women, to GenZ, teenagers, daughters, and even men. If you or anyone you know is looking for a source of comfort while going through the emotional grind, then this book is the ‘go to place’. I’m not saying this because I’m a contributor myself, but I can vouch that this book is a genuine companion to those who need to know that ‘I am not alone’.

My Chapter in the Book: An Incident that Shook My Soul

My chapter is number 16, where I talk out my deepest fears as a parent of a teenager. I discuss ways that I try each day to stay calm to continue my role as a friend and guide at the same time to my son. I have put forth some practical tips for parents, tips that have worked for me. I sincerely hope that this will help parents of teenage children sailing in the same boat as me. Tackling teenagers of this generation is a challenge, given the huge exposure that technology provides them with. As parents we don’t come with manuals, hence we have only each other to hold on to, talk to, and solve the problems we face each day. We must engage in more conversations with other parents to pass through this phase with ease. I hope you find this chapter useful as you wade life with a teenager at home.

Useful Links:

I’m sure you can’t wait to grab a copy of the book, so here are the links to help you with the purchase.

Here’s the link to get it from NotionPress 

And here’s the link to get a copy from Amazon 

A Note About the Editor:

This book has been conceptualized, edited, and compiled by Roma Gupta  Sinha. This is her eighth book that talks about women empowerment, particularly in India. Roma has been the recipient of the ‘Woman of the year’ award in 2015 and the prestigious ‘Planet’s Pride’ award in 2018’ for how she champions women’s empowerment through her writing. Besides, women empowerment Roma also writes extensively about Women’s Equality, Rights, and Liberation on her blog http://www.trulyyoursroma.com. Do visit her blog to know more about her work.

4 thoughts on “Brave Inked Emotions: Practical Tips To Wade Through Everyday Emotional Battles

  1. So right Janaki. To open your hearts to the deepest wounds is one way to heal. Sharing your learnings is a way of caring and helping in your own way. It’s been a fabulous experience with this book, understanding our diverse situations and the ability to navigate slowly and surely.

    Like

  2. Janaki moms like you are truly inspirational.the sensitive topic that you discussed in your chapter that I witnessed in my real life in my elder sister’s case in last few years time. Thankfully her son appeared for 12th boards this year. But in her case I will say the issue is overexpectation and not understanding the child’s mind.  Even in few cases I found her over dramatic where I needed to intervene to make her understand what the child wants. I m proud of you Janaki that you proved you to be an understanding mom and moms like my elder sister should get inspired by you. Keep shinning and keep inspiring and congratulations again for your chapter in this precious book. 💜 

    God bless you

    Like

  3. This open and honest dialogue not only enhances the reader’s connection but also enriches the book’s offering as a supportive resource for parents. It’s evident that this book, with its wide array of perspectives, stands as a beacon of understanding and support for anyone grappling with emotional challenges, regardless of gender or age.

    Like

Leave a comment