What Goes, Comes Back too

It has been a long time since I laid my hands on a book, sat alone in a corner all day long and do nothing but read. Ah! Even the thought brings a smile on my face.  Every time I cross a book store, I am tempted to step in, if not to buy, at least to check the latest arrivals. The look of new books lined up neatly on the shelf sends my adrenaline rushing…

So, on one such visit I could just not stop myself from picking up a book by Oprah Winfrey (What I Know for Sure) and skimming through the pages as I normally do. I was tempted to buy it though it was a bit expensive and my my mind was oscillating because I hardly had any time to read the books I already had. Nevertheless, I bought it and as I started reading it, it filled me with happiness because I could relate to  it in many ways. One such quote that stuck to me and something that I strongly believe in is,

“One thing I know for sure is that what you give comes back to you.”

I have always believed that I must share what I have, when I can. If there is someone out there who needs something genuinely but cannot afford it and I am in a position to help, I sure must. That’s the way I’ve been brought up and I am happy that this particular value has been instilled in me. In fact, my grandfather used to say that if you water your garden, someone will take care of you when you’re old and weak and not able to care for yourself. Perhaps, that’s true and even though I have a single plant in my house, I take care of it like my own child, watering it, talking to it and leaving it in the care of my neighbor when I am away. And it is not always necessary that when you help a certain X, only he/she must reciprocate. Sometimes, it could be from Y who might be a complete stranger. For instance, once my father-in-law got locked out of the house and was helpless. My husband was in office which was far from where we lived and I was out of station. At that point, my maid arrived from nowhere and managed to locate our house owner who lived couple of blocks away. She rushed, got the keys and helped him get in. That way she helped not just my father-in-law, but all of us at home. This is just one instance; there are several more that I have experienced.Help_3

Try this– Feed the hungry, give clothes to the needy and help in whichever little way you can and you will notice that in a way you are helping yourself too. What goes out in some way, comes back in another way. Never stop helping! The law of Karma applies to this too. 🙂

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

One thought on “What Goes, Comes Back too

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

